I WILL NOT BE MOVED

By Deb DeArmond-

“I will not, I will not, I will not be moved!”

Remember that chorus we sang many years ago? It could be my theme song in the last few weeks.

We are moving. We’ve moved. We are not yet done moving.

I don’t like moving and I’ve done it only a few times in my life. I’d rather stay put. But we’ve spent the last three weeks clearing out, throwing out, and carting out the stuff we’ve accumulated in the last 8 years. We’re attending to last minute details in the home we have sold.

Life is a bit chaotic.

We have physically moved into our beautiful new home, a true blessing from the Lord. We are grateful to have sold our previous home at what we believe was a fair price at a time when that’s been hard to come by. It closes in a couple of weeks.

So for the moment, we are  living in two worlds.

And all of a sudden, God showed me this parallel to the way I live. Not really there anymore, but not as fully settled in here, as I’d like to be.

I’ve never been a closet Christian; those who know me know where I stand as a Christ follower. I left behind my life before Him long ago and have never looked back. But the past couple of months I’ve found myself struggling to focus on much besides the move. Things legal, financial, and practical continually present themselves for our attention or approval. Time with Him has been a hastily spoken prayer on my way to the next task. I talk and assume God’s listening without ever slowing down sufficiently to hear from Him.

When might it be more important to hear from the Lord than in the middle of this kind of life change? Yet I’ve let the demands of the stuff crowd out His voice.

There are boxes everywhere. They are marked to identify the contents and where each box belongs: office, kitchen, or master bedroom. Boxes have been neatly arranged in the appropriate space, so they won’t get mixed together. They are well managed, each getting attention as time permitsHave I done the same thing with God? Have I placed Him safely aside until I have time for Him?

The Spirit of the Lord gently poked me this morning and revealed to me it’s not the first time I’ve become absorbed in some project or task and placed Him neatly aside, fully intending to get away for time with Him, and never quite getting there.

“He only is my rock and my salvation; He is my defense; I shall not be moved,” Psalm 62:6 (NKJV)

Ouch. Our move will be completed and we will transition to our new home. But my perspective must remain steady: I must not be moved. He alone is my defense against the challenges that come each day. He is the consistent rock in my life that preserves and protects me.

It made my heart ache to realize how the Lord had been watching me and waiting for me. He missed me. I missed Him.

The boxes will have to wait. I have an appointment far more important than getting the pictures hung or the office set up and arranged.

I shall not be moved.

 

About debdearmond

Deb: Christ follower. Writer and speaker. Optimistically mid-life, experienced - not necessarily "mature". Young enough to discover, explore, teach, serve, mentor, and old enough to know how to do it well! She serves as a writer for the online magazine Destiny in Bloom and she is Co-Founder of MyPurposeNow.org, a website dedicated to helping women over 50 find their purpose in Christ. Deb is optimistically mid-life and excited about the next stage of life and what God has for her now. Her latest print project is a book about the relationships between mot hers and the girls who marry their sons. Deb is wife to her high school sweetheart, Ron, who told her about Jesus and led her to the Lord 39 years ago. Mom to three incredible sons. Gigi to two perfect grandboys. But Jesus is her favorite, and the guys have learned to live with it.
This entry was posted in Feature Article. Bookmark the permalink.