I NEED A DRINK!

By Deb DeArmond –

“They are like trees planted along the riverbank,
bearing fruit each season.
Their leaves never wither,
and they prosper in all they do” (Psalm 1:3 NKJV)

Recently on a business trip, I drove past the home where I lived for the first 19 years of my life. I was looking forward to seeing how the area had grown, and to reminisce about the days I spent playing with the neighborhood kids, roller skating up and down that familiar tree lined street.

They say you can’t go home again−and perhaps they were right. Nothing was as I remembered it. The house seemed smaller. The street, narrower. The neighborhood, somewhat dingy. There were cars parked on the front lawn. And my mother’s beautiful silver maple trees were dry and withered, neglected, and on death’s door.

What a critical reminder. Just as the trees are planted near the water to thrive and live as God envisioned them, I need living water daily−the Word of God−to live according to the image of Christ.

“They are like trees planted along the riverbank,
bearing fruit each season.
Their leaves never wither,
and they prosper in all they do” (Psalm 1:3 NKJV)

I’m not a person who could ever forget to eat lunch or dinner, because I got too busy to think about it. My stomach reminds me, loud and clear. It growls, I take action. What about my spirit−man? Are there pangs? Stirrings? Yes, always. But truthfully, I find it more difficult to sense them than should be the case.

God envisioned my life while I was still in the womb. He created me with a clear picture and purpose in mind. His Word is the nutrient packed source that will allow me to become that person and fulfill His purpose. There is no substitute, no Miracle-Gro in a jar, no aerosol version to shorten the process. It’s not meant to be brief! We were instructed to work out our salvation and that’s a journey. Life in Him is not an “add water and stir” kind of deal. Microwavable Christianity produces the same results as a microwaved grilled cheese sandwich−limp, pale and not particularly healthy. Or appealing.

Just as my mom’s beautiful trees reacted to neglect, so does my heart. I get sickly and thin, frail in my spirit. I’m subject to any little bug (fear, anger, resentment, loneliness) that might come my way, and unfortunately, that’s all pretty contagious. Strong winds bend me in two and take me to my breaking point. I snap suddenly as I am bumped by others and sense that I am fully exposed to the elements around me. I feel as naked and bare in a harsh world as a maple tree in late December.

His Word, even a little “before I run off to start my work day” verse, has a replenishing impact on my heart. Like streams in the desert, I can sense refreshing in my spirit. I feel renewed and quickened, ready to face the world and share my cup with others who are thirsty.

Oh Lord – please don’t let my heart become withered and dry. Thank you Father for your Word. I pray today for a physical manifestation of my thirst for you and the reminder to drink liberally from the truth of your Word!

 

About debdearmond

Deb: Christ follower. Writer and speaker. Optimistically mid-life, experienced - not necessarily "mature". Young enough to discover, explore, teach, serve, mentor, and old enough to know how to do it well! She serves as a writer for the online magazine Destiny in Bloom and she is Co-Founder of MyPurposeNow.org, a website dedicated to helping women over 50 find their purpose in Christ. Deb is optimistically mid-life and excited about the next stage of life and what God has for her now. Her latest print project is a book about the relationships between mot hers and the girls who marry their sons. Deb is wife to her high school sweetheart, Ron, who told her about Jesus and led her to the Lord 39 years ago. Mom to three incredible sons. Gigi to two perfect grandboys. But Jesus is her favorite, and the guys have learned to live with it.
This entry was posted in Feature Article. Bookmark the permalink.