TEARS IN A BOTTLE

By Karen DeArmond Gardner −

“You keep track of all my sorrows, collected my tears in your bottle. You have recorded each one in your book” (Psalm 56:8 NLT).

This must be a big book as I shed many tears in the course of my previous marriage. For the most part I don’t feel the pain I experienced in those years even when sharing part of my story. This morning was different. I read this verse and the shock of it hit me. The hurt was instantaneous and undeniable.

Dwelling in the past is a waste of time. I tend to detach when I talk about the past to avoid the emotions. Then there are those moments when I see, smell, hear or read something that immediately transports me into the past, feeling all the emotion I tried to hide from.

Memories flood my mind. So many tears I cried for my kids, for myself, even for him. Thinking my tears went unnoticed; my anger abates as I read the words yet again. You did not lose track of me in my sorrow, you captured my tears in your bottle, yet I wonder…what is written in your book about my tears?

Each tear we have shed He recorded in His book. To record is not just to write something down, but writing for the purpose of preserving. God is tracking, collecting and preserving our sorrow and tears. He does not take our pain lightly.

In Revelation 21, after God makes all things new, “He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain. All these things are gone forever.” And the one sitting on the throne said, “Look, I am making everything new!” And then He said to me, “Write this down, for what I tell you is trustworthy and true” (NLT).

I imagine Him taking that big ol’ book of His, with all the stories of our tears, ripping it up and tossing it into the fire. Then He begins writing a new story–with no tears, no sorrow, no pain, and no death.

With every tear I shed, He is preserving my story. I ask myself why He wants to preserve my story, when it occurs to me. He wants me to write the story of my tears.

How about you? Are you ready to write the story of your tears?

Those who are wise will take all this to heart; they will see in our history the faithful love of the Lord. (Psalm 107:43 NLT)

 

_______________________________________________________________

Karen DeArmond-Gardner: I found myself in my early 50′s shattered, divorced and without a job – moving to a new state to begin over again. There were times I thought the “start would stop me.” I had no clue what my purpose was and quite frankly thought I had messed up so bad that even God couldn’t put my life back together again. Within the last 6 years I started a new career, enjoyed being single, became a grandmother, reconnected with my family and at 57 I married the most amazing man ever. Because God never does anything small, He asks me to step out of my box and begin writing. Only God….if He did this for me, He will do it for you. Join us on the journey to discover Your Purpose Now.

About debdearmond

Deb: Christ follower. Writer and speaker. Optimistically mid-life, experienced - not necessarily "mature". Young enough to discover, explore, teach, serve, mentor, and old enough to know how to do it well! She serves as a writer for the online magazine Destiny in Bloom and she is Co-Founder of MyPurposeNow.org, a website dedicated to helping women over 50 find their purpose in Christ. Deb is optimistically mid-life and excited about the next stage of life and what God has for her now. Her latest print project is a book about the relationships between mot hers and the girls who marry their sons. Deb is wife to her high school sweetheart, Ron, who told her about Jesus and led her to the Lord 39 years ago. Mom to three incredible sons. Gigi to two perfect grandboys. But Jesus is her favorite, and the guys have learned to live with it.
This entry was posted in Feature Article. Bookmark the permalink.