Amazing Adventure

by Jayme Hull

Today, so many people love to play Scramble With Friends on their Iphone. When I play this game, I am always running out of time. I keep thinking, “I just need more time.” Is that what you say to yourself when you think about the idea of mentoring? “I just need a little more time.”Is your schedule is too packed? Do you need to develop your own time with the Lord before you can help some one else?

I want to encourage you to seek God and His Amazing Adventure for your life. God desires for you to grow in your Faith and to share that faith with others.

Proverbs 3:5-9 from the Message Bible says:
“Trust God from the bottom of your heart;
don’t try to figure out everything on your own.
Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;
He’s the one who will keep you on track.
Don’t assume that you know it all.
Run to God! Run from evil!

Let’s break this Scripture down like I would with someone during mentoring. Just pretend you and I are having coffee, sitting across from one another at a cozy small table and talking about finding time for God.

Jayme: “OK. The bottom line for all of us is we must be willing to TRUST God and give Him control. When He speaks we must be willing to LISTEN. As we seek God, He alone is the one who will keep us on track with our time management.
Friend: “But I just don’t know enough of the Bible to mentor or lead.”
Jayme: “God’s enemy the devil uses anything to distract and discourage all of us to keep the Good News from spreading to others. Do not allow yourself to be deceived by the enemy. Ask the Lord if He would help you learn more about Him and give you courage to share your faith. “

Friend: “I know this sounds crazy but I don’t know how to seek the Lord.”
Jayme: “If you would like some help I would love to guide you and walk you through the journey of growing in your faith with the Lord.”
(Here is the DON’T part of the verse)
My sweet friend, I do not know all the answers and I don’t have a PHD. in Theology, but I am in the Word of God every day, and I too have a mentor. When you and I can’t find the answers to your questions I will ask my mentor and research until we have the answer. There is nothing God can’t answer!”

Friend: “I want to learn, but how do I start?”
Jayme: “Run to Jesus and away from your old ways. Start tomorrow morning with a devotional time and prayer. Turn off the old radio programs and old TV shows and read or listen to positive and encouraging Christian material to get started. You will be amazed at the change for the better in your life. I know, it works for me and I can testify to this Amazing Adventure I am on as I serve the Lord.”

This conversation would last for one hour. At the end of the meeting I would pray with her over her new changes in life. Then we would set up another time to meet. I would suggest a reading plan to her for the next week and give her a few tips for organization. As we leave I’d get a big hug and start praying for her in my car as I leave.

If you need this type of help, ask God to help you find a mentor or female ministry leader to you get started. If you are encouraged and willing to mentor others, now is the time to pray for God to send you His divinely selected woman to mentor.

We’d love to hear your Amazing Adventures with the Lord and mentoring. Please send in your comments.

 

___________________________________

Jayme is a graduate of New York University with a B.A. in Speech Communication Education and Musical Theater. She married her high school sweetheart John and together they live in Nashville TN. Jayme and John have three incredible godly adult children, two beautiful daughter-in-laws that love the Lord and one granddaughter . She went to NYC to meet the Broadway Entertainment world but instead she met the Lord Jesus Christ as her personal Savior. From that moment on her life was changed forever. Her new ministry, Woman Face toFace, is a Christ centered, Bible based, non-denomination ministry to equip women of all ages and stages of life to learn how to help each other as a mentor or being mentored. Check out the website at http://www.jaymeh.com

About debdearmond

Deb: Christ follower. Writer and speaker. Optimistically mid-life, experienced - not necessarily "mature". Young enough to discover, explore, teach, serve, mentor, and old enough to know how to do it well! She serves as a writer for the online magazine Destiny in Bloom and she is Co-Founder of MyPurposeNow.org, a website dedicated to helping women over 50 find their purpose in Christ. Deb is optimistically mid-life and excited about the next stage of life and what God has for her now. Her latest print project is a book about the relationships between mot hers and the girls who marry their sons. Deb is wife to her high school sweetheart, Ron, who told her about Jesus and led her to the Lord 39 years ago. Mom to three incredible sons. Gigi to two perfect grandboys. But Jesus is her favorite, and the guys have learned to live with it.
This entry was posted in Feature Article. Bookmark the permalink.