Growing In Your Walk

by Jayme Hull

Where are you on the Growth Chart? From the first check up as a newborn child until your last breath when you go into the Doctor’s office, you are measured, weighed and observed. As Christians we have the same evaluation chart for our walk with the Lord.

Now is the time for your self-evaluation. Are you looking for conversational subjects to discuss with the woman you are mentoring? This is the perfect subject matter for digging deep to help one another grow.

Here is the GROWING UP IN JESUS CHART:

INFANTS: Saved, yet self-centered. They want what they want and accept no responsibilities. 1 Cor. 3:2
ADOLESCENCE: Saved and aware but does not understand much or seek to know more of Christ. Rev 2:17
ADULT: Saved and acts responsible for own actions and seeks to help others grow.

Hebrews 5:14
“Solid food is for those who are mature, who through training
have the skill to recognize the difference between right and
wrong.”

Now is the time to sit down and talk to God about your placement on this chart. I have listed below the three solid areas to begin your re-evaluation adventure.

1. ACTS in prayer- Adore the Lord, Confess your sin, Thank God for all things, and Supplication (humble prayers) to the Lord for others.
2. Claim Lamentations 3:22-23, “God’s mercies are new every morning and start a new refreshing commitment to the Lord.”
3. Seek the Lord every day, (suggesting the Mornings) with reading His word, studying the Bible, and prayer and service to others. Psalm 143:8

Let’s pray together:

Lord, Savior and Master of my life, forgive me for thinking I have arrived and can be satisfied with my walk of faith. It is so easy for me to be deceived into believing that I’m OK and I’m doing well. I have forgotten that I need to be with you everyday in the Word, praying, digging and studying. Help me to re-prioritize my life and seek you first with all of my heart. Help me, Lord of the heavens, to have a deep desire in my heart to know you more. Give me a passion to study your Word. I acknowledge that I cannot do life on my own without You. As you have written in John 15:5, “Apart from Me [Jesus] you can do nothing.” Help me Lord, I’m completely yours. Amen.

If you have concerns or questions I’m available for Q & A.
Be blessed and encouraged. God is in the details of your life.

___________________________________

Jayme is a graduate of New York University with a B.A. in Speech Communication Education and Musical Theater. She married her high school sweetheart John and together they live in Nashville TN. Jayme and John have three incredible godly adult children, two beautiful daughter-in-laws that love the Lord and one granddaughter . She went to NYC to meet the Broadway Entertainment world but instead she met the Lord Jesus Christ as her personal Savior. From that moment on her life was changed forever. Her new ministry, Woman Face toFace, is a Christ centered, Bible based, non-denomination ministry to equip women of all ages and stages of life to learn how to help each other as a mentor or being mentored. Check out the website at www.jaymeh.com

About debdearmond

Deb: Christ follower. Writer and speaker. Optimistically mid-life, experienced - not necessarily "mature". Young enough to discover, explore, teach, serve, mentor, and old enough to know how to do it well! She serves as a writer for the online magazine Destiny in Bloom and she is Co-Founder of MyPurposeNow.org, a website dedicated to helping women over 50 find their purpose in Christ. Deb is optimistically mid-life and excited about the next stage of life and what God has for her now. Her latest print project is a book about the relationships between mot hers and the girls who marry their sons. Deb is wife to her high school sweetheart, Ron, who told her about Jesus and led her to the Lord 39 years ago. Mom to three incredible sons. Gigi to two perfect grandboys. But Jesus is her favorite, and the guys have learned to live with it.
This entry was posted in Feature Article. Bookmark the permalink.