GIFT-WRAPPED MOMENTS

by Mona Shriver

Do you know what my favorite time of day is? When I sit down with my first cup of coffee and take that initial sip. A big mug. Fresh coffee, two sweeteners, a good dollop of hazelnut creamer and I’m sneaking a small glimpse of heaven. Sometimes I hold the cup against my cheek and experience the warmth emanating from within. This feels especially good if I have a headache or the sniffles. Sometimes I stick my nose into the wide opening of my cup and breathe deeply, the scent filling my senses. And always I thank God for the privilege of being able to have this delicious moment. A swallow of this heavenly potion caresses my mouth down into my throat and then flows like a warm puddle into my stomach. A moment in time wrapped in thankfulness.

God and I often chat about my obsession with this ritual. It is so easy for me to know this is one of His gifts to me. And I am truly thankful. I know it won’t matter to me then, but I sincerely hope this will be a part of my heavenly life too.

Have you ever thought about that? What do you hope for in heaven? What experiences do you have here on this earth that give you a hint of what may be there?

I think of holding my toddler granddaughter just awake from her nap and still wrapped in a blanket, her cuddling against my chest while we rock. I believe she feels safe and secure. I feel like I have the whole world in my arms and nothing could make this moment more perfect. A moment in time wrapped in pure love.

I think about walking into a forest green with foliage. The slightest evergreen smell growing stronger as I take each step. The birds singing in the trees. A beam of sunlight finding an open space to shine through to the earth’s floor. Ferns growing with wild abandonment and perfection nestled beneath the tall grandeur of the biggest trees. A moment in time wrapped in peace.

I think of being in church or among a group where songs are being offered to our God. I reflect on a retreat where the doxology was sung as grace before each meal. The harmonies clear and present. The words true. The Spirit’s presence palpable. Being able to raise my voice with those around me. Sometimes the music is so beautiful I stop singing so I can just listen. A moment in time wrapped in intoxicating praise.

I think about lying next to my husband in the early moments of waking. Hearing his even breathing tell me he is still asleep. Sometimes I touch his back to feel the muscles expand and contract with each breath. Thirty-eight years of waking with him at my side. So many things we’ve experienced together—laughter, sorrow, friendship, romance, pain, healing—and I am content. A moment in time wrapped in joy.

I’ve been feeling low the past few days. It was time to think about the things for which I am thankful. The moments that bring me love, peace, praise, and joy. This world is not my home. I am just passing through. But I pass through not alone and not without tangible glimpses of my future home. Moments in time gift-wrapped with love by my Abba.
_____________________________________________________

Mona Shriver worked as an emergency room nurse until the Lord called her out of that profession and into ministry. She is a Precept trained Bible teacher, has been active in women’s ministries, and speaks at special events and retreats. She serves her local church body in central California.

Mona has been married to Gary since 1974 and they have 3 grown sons. She and Gary co-founded Hope & Healing Ministries Inc. http://www.hopeandhealing.us which provides support and resources for couples in adultery recovery. They co-authored the book: Unfaithful, Hope and Healing after Infidelity. Learn more at her Website: http://www.hopeandhealing.us

About debdearmond

Deb: Christ follower. Writer and speaker. Optimistically mid-life, experienced - not necessarily "mature". Young enough to discover, explore, teach, serve, mentor, and old enough to know how to do it well! She serves as a writer for the online magazine Destiny in Bloom and she is Co-Founder of MyPurposeNow.org, a website dedicated to helping women over 50 find their purpose in Christ. Deb is optimistically mid-life and excited about the next stage of life and what God has for her now. Her latest print project is a book about the relationships between mot hers and the girls who marry their sons. Deb is wife to her high school sweetheart, Ron, who told her about Jesus and led her to the Lord 39 years ago. Mom to three incredible sons. Gigi to two perfect grandboys. But Jesus is her favorite, and the guys have learned to live with it.
This entry was posted in Feature Article and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.